Bali Cricket League


The Bali Cricket League (The League) was the brain child of the members of the Udayana cricket team who, in 2000 decided that it was time to commence a formal cricket competition in Bali for both Indonesians and expatriates alike. Prior to then cricket had been played since 1993 but only on an informal semi-social basis.

The League commenced in 2001 with 3 teams participating, the Bali Geckos based at Kuta, the Bali International Cricket Club (BICC) based at Sanur, and Udayana based at Jimbaran . For the first 3 years it was organised and run by BICC and the winning team in those first 3 years was Udayana.
In 2002 the Udayana team established a formal club known as The Udayana Cricket Club (UCC) which still has the dominant team today. Udayana is the first Indonesian managed cricket club in the world with its main aim being to promote the game of cricket for Indonesians. With the support and guidance of Alan Wilson, who has been the mentor and benefactor of cricket in Bali for some fifteen years and under the Presidency of Soni Hawoe the club has been the driving force in managing and developing The League . It was strengthened by the arrival in Bali of several fine cricketers, including Soni, from Sumba (West Timor) all of whom played for UCC and all are still involved with cricket in Bali and other parts of Indonesia today.


The main aim of The League has always been to produce and run a competition in which Indonesian cricket teams can improve their skills in a friendly environment. This was the 10th pillar for the development of the game in Indonesia as approved by the International Cricket Council in 2002. From this it has always been a desire that The League would:

  1. Compete with the Jakarta League and produce an Inter-provincial tournament of some meaning, and
  2. Be a forum from which Indonesian national players would emerge.

Since the start of The League the principal elements in its development have been :

  • The consistent financial and coaching support of UCC. It has been through its efforts that over the years 3 new Indonesian teams have been admitted to The League, Denpasar lead by Wayan Suandi, Gianyar Red Ants led by Made Erawan and Lovina led by Nyoman Dedi,
  • The loyalty and vision of Soni Hawoe to be able continue to find ways and means of improving The league,
  • The continued support of Pen Prov Bali and Cricket Bali led by Tjokorda Raka,
  • Overseas members and supporters of UCC, especially the Top Enders from Darwin and The Camden Rams from Sydney, who have generously donated cricket gear and money which has been used for the benefit of all teams in The League,
  • Expatriate cricketers in Bali who have formed teams to participate in The League, currently Udayana Kingfisher Veterans and West Coast and formerly the Bali Geckos. All these teams have given financial assistance to develop cricket in Bali,
  • The arrival in 2010 of Brent Palfreyman, a former Chairman of Cricket Tasmania, who has volunteered to offer advice on improved governance and structures for The League and ideas for its continued expansion whilst being in Bali during the past 3 cricket seasons and,
  • The transfer of Jeff Tyler to Bali in 2011 as the General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott  hotel in Nusa Dua. It has been through his efforts that The League has been fortunate in securing a naming rights sponsor, Hatten Wines. Since the signing of the sponsorship agreement The League has been known as The Hatten Wines Bali Cricket League.


UCC took over the running of The League in 2004 until the end of the 2011 season when 5 five teams were involved. At this stage a new committee comprising a Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Secretary/Treasurer, Competition Manager and delegates from each of the participating teams was appointed to oversee the running of the league.

In 2012 The League expanded to 8 teams and was able to secure its first sponsor as outlined above. It has now established a solid base from which it can continue to expand not only in the number of participating teams but also into other areas of Bali.

2001    Udayana
2002    Udayana
2003    Udayana
2004    Bali Geckos
2005    Bali Geckos
2006    Udayana
2007    Bali Geckos
2008    No play
2009    Udayana
2010    Udayana Veterans
2011    Udayana